Digital SourcesLegal SourcesOther Common SourcesParenthetical Documentation ExamplesPrint SourcesReferences Page - Example
This is the "Books" page of the "Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biology   Tags: biology  

This libguide is designed for use by students enrolled in biology classes at EWC.
Last Updated: Jan 31, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ewc.wy.edu/content.php?pid=85062 Print Guide RSS Updates

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Starting Your Research

Welcome to the EWC Library's research guide for biology topics!

Use this guide to research topics on genetics and general biology.

 

Biology Books:

Visit the library to use these books:

Cover Art
Biology demystified
ISBN: 0071410406

Cover Art
Microcosm : E. coli and the new science of life
ISBN: 037542430X

 

Genetics

Visit the library to use this reference book:

Cover Art
Gregor Mendel: Planting the Seeds of Genetics
ISBN: 0810957485

Cover Art
Fly:the Unsung Hero in the History of Genetics
ISBN: 0066212510

 

PRIMO Search: the library at your fingertips

Find books, journal articles and more with PRIMO.  Search all library resources with a single click!

 

Biology Reference Books at the EWC Library

Find these books in the reference collection of the EWC Library. They cannot be borrowed, but are always in the library to use.

For General Biology:

Cassell dictionary of biology

McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology  8th ed.

For Genetics: 

Genetics (4 volumes)

Glossary of genetics : classical and molecular  5th ed.

 

Online catalog subjects

Search for books with EWC Library's online catalog.

Subject headings like these work well to find books in the EWC Library:

Life - Origin
Natural selection
Biological diversity
Natural history


• You may also use the word “and” to combine two subjects in a search: birds and Wyoming.

• Some college libraries, including the EWC Library, use the Dewey Decimal call number system, which use numbers and then letters and numbers as a code for a subject and author. Life science books’ call numbers start with 570. Others to know:

574 - Biology

575.1 - Genetics

Genetics - animals - 591.15

Genetics - microorganisms -576.139

Genetics - plants - 581.15

 

Electronic Books

ebrary Full Text Books is a collection of over 43,000 full-text, electronic books. You may view the chapters of the books online. These are academic books range from business to books on technology and include reference books. EWC students, faculty and staff may search this from off-campus.

Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet. This collection contains more than 15,000 eBooks. Most are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded, read and redistributed for non-commercial use.


 

E-Books

Here are some e-books in the EWC Library you may find useful for your research:


Cover Art
Genetics
ISBN: 0028656067

Cover Art
Biology
ISBN: 0028655516

Profile

Profile Image
Becky Lorenz
Contact Info
Eastern Wyoming College Library
3200 West C Street
Torrington WY 82240
(307) 532-8210
Send Email
 

Ask a Librarian

Are you befuddled, bemused, bedazzled, befogged or feeling bewitched and drowning in a sea of information?  At a loss to know what to do next or which way to turn?  Ask a Librarian!!  Please be patient and  send me an email message and I will respond.  Email me at:  becky.lorenz@ewc.wy.edu   BE SURE TO INCLUDE YOUR NAME AND EMAIL ADDRESS IN THE MESSAGE!!!  Just know that if I am not here, it may be the next day before I am able to answer your question.  Becky

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip